Economy 101

Valkyrie

It occurs to me that a lot of people are fairly uninformed when it comes to the way an economy works. I'm no expert by any means, but some things are pretty obvious anyway.

1) Imagine a country where nobody spends any money. No one gets rich, and nobody becomes poor. No products are bought or sold, nothing is manufactured, and no services are available.

What kind of economy is this? Nonexistent. And if 90% of the population does not spend, it isn't much better. When people do not spend, there is no economic growth.

Thoughts?

Werbung:
It occurs to me that a lot of people are fairly uninformed when it comes to the way an economy works. I'm no expert by any means, but some things are pretty obvious anyway.

1) Imagine a country where nobody spends any money. No one gets rich, and nobody becomes poor. No products are bought or sold, nothing is manufactured, and no services are available.

What kind of economy is this? Nonexistent. And if 90% of the population does not spend, it isn't much better. When people do not spend, there is no economic growth.

Thoughts?

Barter works to replace money as a commodity. Did it that way for a long time very successfully with the motivated accumulating much and the unmotivated inventing ways to get something for nothing.

Thoughts?
Economies are spontaneously created out of necessity.

Production is the application of reason to the problem of survival.
...​
The root of production is man’s mind; the mind is an attribute of the individual and it does not work under orders, controls and compulsion, as centuries of stagnation have demonstrated. Progress cannot be planned by government, and it cannot be restricted or retarded; it can only be stopped, as every statist government has demonstrated.